Losing something or someone you care or love deeply about is extremely painful and understanding grief can help you cope with it. You can go through all types of complex feelings and emotions, and it can feel like a sadness and pain that will never stop. These are the common reactions/effects to an important loss. Grief is the natural reaction to a significant loss. It is an emotional feeling when someone or something you love is carried away. As a part of understanding grief, it is important to know that the grief will be more intense if the loss is more significant. While the most common form of grief is associated with the death of a loved one, any loss may be a reason of grief, including:

  • Selling the family home
  • Safety loss after a trauma
  • Loss of friendship
  • Serious illness of loved one
  • Loss of cherished dream
  • A pet’s death
  • Retirement
  • A miscarriage
  • Loss of financial stability
  • Loss of job
  • Health loss
  • Relationship breakup or Divorce

Developing an understanding of grief can help you see that other life changes may also result in grief. For instance, you could go through grief after retiring from the career you loved, selling your family home, changing work, graduating from college or moving away from home. Grieving is a highly individual and personal experience. The grief process depends on various factors involving the nature of loss, your life experience, coping and personality styles, spiritual beliefs, etc. The grief process takes time. Healing cannot be hurried or forced as it occurs gradually and there is not a timetable for grieving. Some individuals begin to feel better after some weeks or months. It is imperative to be patient and enable the grieving process to unfold in a natural way.  But some people experience the grieving process for years. This may be a sign that someone is stuck in one of the phases or working through grief your understanding grief may help them along.

Usually, there are five different stages of grief. The five stages of grief are:

  • Acceptance
  • Depression
  • Bargaining
  • Anger
  • Denial

Not every person who grieves experiences all these stages of grief and they do not occur in order. However, if you find yourself stuck in one of the stages, or if the grief feels unbearable, it is time to get some help.  Unresolved grief can result in depression.  Depression can be extremely debilitating and potentially fatal.  If you find yourself stuck in the grief process or depressed, reach out for help.  Our treatment center relies on evidence based practices and our Intensive Outpatient Program shares many common methods with other successful treatment methods.  The foundation of our treatment program for relies on the principles of the stages of change, cognitive behavioral therapy, solution focused treatment, skills training and identifying repetitive dysfunctional behavioral relationship patterns to promote recovery from depression and other mental health disorders.  In fact, our Intensive Outpatient Program in Memphis, TN that has been proven to be effective in the treatment of these disorders in six peer reviewed treatment outcome studies.   Our treatment center provides services to those who need more treatment than one hour a week, but less than 24 hour care, by providing three hours of treatment per day, three to five days per week, in an intensive outpatient setting.  If you or a loved one is showing signs of stalled grief, depression or anxiety, they should be assessed by a trained mental health professional who can help design a treatment plan that can result in recovery.  Treatment for depression and anxiety can be highly successful.  Call us at 901-682-6136 to schedule an appointment.